North Warrnambool

Originally known as Northern Districts, the Eagles spent their first decade competing in the Warrnambool and District Football League, contesting grand finals in 1992, when they lost by 29 points to Old Collegians, and 1994, when they overcame East Warrnambool by 63 points.

Since crossing to the much stronger Hampden Football League in 1997 the club, since known as the North Warrnambool Eagles Football Netball Club, have fought tooth and nail to gain respect and recognition as a true force. The Eagles are now showing encouraging signs stemming from 2007 when the side managed 4 wins after failing to win a single game in both 2005 and 2006. In 2008 North Warrnambool have stepped up to manage 7 wins and missed out on making finals for the first time by percentage only!

2010 has shown again the North Warrnambool Eagles are on the rise, with 5 wins and 2 drawn games, again finishing 6th and just missing finals. Drawing against 2009 Premiers Koroit and a big win over 2009 finalist Terang Mortlake shows there is plenty to be excited about down Bushfield way.

Season 2011 was a sign that things were on the rise for the Eagles, with the seniors making the finals for the very first time only going by 2 points in the Elimination Final to Terang Mortlake. The Reserves won 2 finals for the first time before going down to Koroit in the Preliminary Final.

All Netball teams made the finals with the club winning two Premierships in the 13 & under and 17 & under. This certainly was the Clubs most successful in the Hampden FNL in our short time in the league.

In new success for both the club and individual in 2008, Liam Ryan, the Captain of the side, collected the most votes as seen by the umpires and won the coveted Maskell Medal for HFNL Best and Fairest. Now in 2010 Liam Ryan has won his second Maskell Medal in 3 years. In a tight count he managed to draw with Cobden Ruckman Levi Dare. This pushes Liam Ryan into the elite category to have played in the HFNL and has plenty of respect from his peers. This now makes it three for the club with Jason Porter winning the same award in 2002. Matthew Jellie won the Lew Kelly Medal for the Hampden FNL Reserves Best & Fairest.

The club has had major success with the netball sides in all grades taking out many premierships and in 2008 managing to represent all but one grand final! Elisha Carter won her second senior netball Best & Fairest Award in 2011 following up her 2009 Award

Senior Football Premierships –

Reserves Football Premierships – 2016, 2017

Under 18’s/18.5’s Football Premierships – 2017

Open Netball Premierships – 2013, 2015

Div 1 Netball Premierships – 2000, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2015, 2019

Div 2 Netball  Premierships – 2007, 2008

Div 3 Netball Premierships – 2017

17 & Under Netball Premierships – 2008, 2011, 2012, 2016, 2017

15 & Under Netball Premierships – 2007, 2008, 2013, 2015, 2016

13 & Under Netball (previously 15 & Under Reserves) Premierships – 2005, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014

Get the HFNL Record